Martin lecture link

ABOUT
ARTISTS
PROGRAMME & TICKETS
CONTACT
FEST EN FEST – LAB
FEST EN FEST 2020
FEST EN FEST 2018
FB / TW / IN

 

 

 

Martin Hargreaves
From Tuesday the 6th of April
Available 11:00 BST/12:00 CET- 4th May 18:00 GMT/19:00 CET
Video Lecture
Expanded choreography
Booking required

 

Choreography in the expanded field

In 1979 art critic Rosalind Krauss wrote an essay in which she attempted to wrestle with the term ‘sculpture’ and how it was promiscuously denoting all manner of practices across an expanded field of reference. Since then it’s become something of a trope to prefix ‘expanded’ to a whole range of genres in order to think about the experimental boundaries of a discipline but also the historical and geographical exclusions that a word might perform. This lecture will ask how choreography is expanding, what it encompasses or eschews, and how there might be corresponding vectors of contraction and refusal. In particular, it will explore how this expansion is often articulated through a proposed tension between choreographic discourse and dance practice. At the centre of this enquiry will be the question; expanding for and by who?